From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

July 24th Mixtape – 2011 Challenge

leave a comment »

This weeks mixtape turned into a challenge set by Marc via twitter. I have two standard responses to challenges. The first is to approach it with an energy & ferocity equal to Keith Moon’s drumming. The second it to approach with a slow pod, calmly confident I will get there in the end much like listening to Guy Garvey. I’ve approached this somewhere in between. I started off whizzing through it but then trying to whittle it down was a plodder.

I was to list my top 25 tracks of 2011 (so far) and although it sounds easy enough to do Marc had put his in order too. Well, painfully I’ve managed to get the list down to 25 after spending 5 days on it. As for showing favouritism, I just couldn’t do it. Every time I tried I felt guilty about placing Anna Calvi before PJ Harvey, or Black Lips over Bon Iver. So, although my list is no way near as cool as Marc’s here are the tracks that have stood out for me this year. Hope you enjoy, click on spotify to listen, the final three tracks are via YouTube.

If you have a playlist challenge for me email me at fromdesktilldawn@gmail.com. 

  1. Beirut – East Harlem
  2. Metronomy – She Wants
  3. PJ Harvey – The Words That Maketh Murder
  4. Emmy The Great – Iris
  5. Bon Iver – Calgary
  6. Lykke Li- Sadness Is A Blessing
  7. Wild Beasts – Bed Of Nails
  8. The Black Lips – Family Tree
  9. Friendly Fires – Hawaiian Air
  10. Anna Calvi – Blackout
  11. R.E.M. – Uberlin
  12. Sleigh Bells – Riot Rhythm
  13. Cold War Kids – Louder Than Ever
  14. Sparrow & The Workshop – Snakes In The Grass
  15. The Joy Formidable – A Heavy Abacus
  16. Wye Oak – Civilian
  17. Fleet Foxes – Someone You’d Admire
  18. Patrick Wolf – The City
  19. The Strokes – Undercover Of Darkness
  20. Foo Fighters – Rope
  21. Wu Lyf – Lyf
  22. The Go! Team – Buy Nothing Day
  23. Little Dragon – Ritual Union
  24. The Horrors – Still Life
  25. Bjork – Cosmogony
Follow me on Twitter & Facebook!

Written by Anon PA

July 24, 2011 at 10:05 am

Leave a comment