From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

August 14th Mixtape

with one comment

I can’t remember the last time a week traipsed & pulled me through such a wide range of emotions. Utterly exhausted but ultimately ending it on positive feelings. I hope this weeks mixtape echoes that emotion.

I’ve swept streets after the riots. Been made redundant so wondering what my next move will be & how much to panic. Shed tears over lives lost, shed tears over homes & businesses lost. I’ve felt overwhelming support from friends & loved ones. I’ve felt utter joy at bees on a rooftop, pollinating flowers on the Southbank with high-rise buildings looming grand behind them. I’ve had my first official review of a live event put up on a website that is not my own, Sound Revolution.

I started the week sitting in front of the news for hours watching London fall, it was literally heartbreaking. Then the madness spread to other places. Initially, for a split second, I thought I’d feel ashamed of a city I love so much, it made my stomach turn and left a bitter taste in my mouth. But instead, because of the selfless & amazing actions of others, I have never felt so much pride. Pride in communities, human nature, charitable actions & deeds. So many people played their part and if I could somehow throw you a party & shower you with good karma then I would. Instead this playlist is for you, the people who have inspired me this week, a lot of you strangers that I will never meet. Thankyou. 

  1. Marvin Gaye – What’s Going On
  2. Blur – Tender
  3. David Bowie – Heroes
  4. Julian Casablancas – 11th Dimension
  5. Two Door Cinema Club – Something Good Can Work
  6. Patrick Wolf – Together
  7. OK Go – All Is Not Lost
  8. Bill Withers – Lean On Me
  9. Paul Weller – Brand New Start
  10. Elbow – One Day Like This
Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Written by Anon PA

August 14, 2011 at 7:00 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Last weeks mixtape was dedicated to strangers that inspired me. This weeks mixtape is for those that have been pretty awesome to me this week, putting up with the phone calls, the moodiness around the flat, the pints purchased and especially Lolita who has talked me out of my moments of Milton Keynes madness. ♥ […]


Leave a comment