From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Hoxton Robbings and Roofs.

with 4 comments

Not many daughters are on the receiving end of a smug dad when they get robbed. My first weekend as an East London resident resulted in my iPhone being swiped as I dashed into a shop on Hoxton Street sober as a judge in broad daylight. My dad, born and bred in the area, has put up with years of people telling them how much Hoxton has changed but when my mum broke the news of this theft he  jubilantly exclaimed. “Told you Hoxton hasn’t changed!”.

Out of the two old dears that nosed their way into my misfortune one comforted me and offered to pray to Saint Anthony while the other shouted at me for “being an idiot. you can’t take your eyes off anything for a second in Hoxton It’s crap!.” I suspect my Dad would have sided with her.

Last year I set myself a to-do list. Life happened and things didn’t pan out despite achieving it in parts. I have three Lido’s left to swim in London and I learnt how to ride a bike (albeit not brilliantly yet. I doubt I’d pass my cycling proficiency). This move sparks a mentality of getting back on track as living here was part of the plan.

Up on the roof.

Up on the roof.

We sat up on our roof terrace last night with a bottle of wine watching the sun go down and the water returning to glass after a day of long boats passing, plastic bags floating past like lyrics from a Suede song, Laburnum Boat Club plunging in and ragged looking ducks disturbing the canal. I felt the luckiest and calmest I’ve been in a long time despite the bad luck on the first weekend I arrived. 

P.S I predict I fall in the canal by the time the year is up.

P.P.S My first week was soundtracked by Kindness, David Bowie, Daft Punk, Bat for Lashes, Talking Heads, LCD Soundsystem, Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Haim. You can play my mixtape on YouTube here.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can see my old flat from your terrace… As with anywhere it’s about keeping your wits about you. As for falling in the canal. Stand your ground against the towpath cyclist knobheads and you’ll stay safe and dry

    Max

    May 4, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    • It’s mainly my fear of being on the bike and ending up in the canal from the slightly bulshy, mental cyclists. I watch them from the balcony…. Loons!

      Anon PA

      May 6, 2013 at 5:43 pm

  2. […] Hoxton Robbings and Roofs. (fromdisctilldawn.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] after moving areas, back on another NHS waiting list as I transfer to a hospital closer to where I now live. It seemed like time to blog about it […]


Leave a Reply

