From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

A Happy Easter Glastonbury Mixtape

leave a comment »

I never sleep well during a full moon. So if you add that to Tinnitus playing its wicked part in a lack of a peaceful nights sleep regardless of the lunar cycle, this week has been restless. At some point around 4am Wednesday morning I started trying to compile an Easter mixtape but all that kept popping into my head was songs from Jesus Christ Superstar and Blue’s All Rise (blame a catholic upbringing and drinking a lot of cider in a town that loved pop, tacky boy bands and R&B). Despite the fact that the mere mention of these songs runs the risk of creating unwanted earworms to anyone foolish enough to be reading I didn’t want to actually put you through hearing them.

Last night as I was sat sinking pints listening to my male colleagues talk golf and scrolling through my phone the Glastonbury line up was partly announced (I know there’s more to come because Thom Yorke in some guise wasn’t listed so I am still hopeful for John Grant and Yeah Yeah Yeahs in my wildest dreams). So instead of Easter this mixtape is based on those first knee jerk excitements as I glanced through the stages. I can smell the petrichor, sloe gin in hip flasks and the mud already.

You can play this on either YouTube or Spotify. Have a very merry Easter. ♥

  1. Phoenix – Girlfriend
  2. Tom Tom Club – Wordy Rappinghood
  3. Solange – Losing You
  4. Villagers – Becoming A Jackal
  5. Foals – Milk & Black Spiders
  6. The Rolling Stones -Ruby Tuesday
  7. Devendra Banhart – Can’t Help But Smiling
  8. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Nobody’s Baby Now
  9. Nas – The Message
  10. The Horrors – Still Life
  11. Vampire Weekend – Diane Young
  12. Haim – Falling
  13. Local Natives – Breakers
  14. Rodriguez – Inner City Blues
  15. Peace – Bloodshake
Leave a Reply

