From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Midweek Swoon. March 20th. 2013

with 2 comments

It feels like an exceptionally busy week for music so I thought I’d post a midweek round-up today instead of on the not-so regular Sunday Swoon (by the weekend I predict witterings over Adam Buxton’s BUG, Polica and Wilton’s Music Hall).

1. Vampire Weekend popped up with two new songs this week, Diane Young and Step. A band always synonymous of festivals, the smell of damp grass and the taste of rum and coke for me. Happy to have them back. Both songs being streamed on their website.

2. Suede have released Bloodsports twenty years after their debut album, making me feel exceptionally old. Brett Anderson is still insisting on using words like semaphore, slither, gutters and aerosols in his lyrics but I will always adore this band and Bloodsports hasn’t failed me. It feels like typical Suede and that gets my seal of approval.

3. The internet went into meltdown hyper mode on Sunday evening when Beyoncé released snippets of two new songs Bow Down and I Been On. I am beyond words as I usually am over her, super fan. Just listen. Also this promo for her forthcoming Mrs. Carter tour makes me want to live in her idea of a royal court.

4. The debut album If You Leave from London trio Daughter is released this week. It makes me melancholy and calls regrets to mind. That’s the beauty of music, when an overwhelming emotion or memory arrives from nowhere even on the happiest of days.

You can also listen to the new album Delta Machine from Depeche Mode and watch JT in his new video for Mirrors. Told you it’s a busy week. Back to work.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

    • Thanks so much. Geniunely means a lot to me when people come across this blog. Hope I don’t disappoint too swiftly. Han

      Anon PA

      April 26, 2013 at 9:31 am


Leave a Reply

