From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Sunday Swoon. January 13th 2013

leave a comment »

1. From all the new music this week the spotlight has to be on the unexpected release from David Bowie. In a world where every moment seems to be public, privacy a rare gem and music leaked frequently the fact that this appeared from nowhere adds to the enigma and brilliance of this wonderful man. It’s melancholy, it’s right for a 66-year-old man to lament and ponder on his life. Where Are We Now? is definitely right for this era of Bowie.

2. Just before the above blindsided me I was welcoming back Suede. Barriers is instant, galloping along and I don’t care how jowly Brett Anderson gets with age. I’ll still choose him over Damon without hesitation. You can download it for free here. I’m generally skeptical about Brit pop reunions but he’s poetry to me and I’m hopeful about forthcoming album Bloodsports.

3. And for all those that like their music barefoot and bearded (I hugely do) Devendra Banhart also released new track Für Hildegard von Bingen.

4. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs performed two new songs this week at The Glasshouse in California. They sound raw and rough, like Fever to Tell. Karen O’s stage persona adding weight to her being one of the best front people out there. Why don’t I own a zebra print cape to get stuck in?

Written by Anon PA

January 13, 2013 at 10:50 am

Leave a Reply

