From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Music for Getting Up And On With It

leave a comment »

The other week I had a self-indulgent moan and posted Music for Melancholy. In my own way I guess I was exorcising the demons of a frustrating run of bad luck over the past twelve months. Since being slapped in the face with redundancy I have spent the past few weeks putting our families tried and tested work ethic to the test and it’s eventually paid off (that ethic being you work, you pay your taxes, you get on with it… you hear me Starbucks?).

Recently I pushed myself through three tough interviews at one firm to lose out literally by the toss of a coin between myself and one other candidate. On route to my final interview Ken Livingston was sat next to me on the tube and I considered it to be a bad omen. A prophecy fulfilled. Last Thursday, as I trekked my way to another interview I stumbled over a Ferret in Holborn outside the office I was going to, a thought that still makes me smile while feeling puzzled. It was the job I have been offered.

Conclusion; Bitey Ferrets are luckier than politicians. Like I even needed to point that out.

I have to say a huge thanks to my friend Lucy who sat with me during my melancholy weekend and reminded  me “You may be having the worst of times but you’re surrounded by the best of people”. Friends and family have nudged me along as well as the music I’ve been listening to. I owe them a million karma points.

This week I banish the melancholy to the bottom of the recycling bin along with the half price bottles of Oyster Bay. This Mixtape is brought to you by relief and a tiny bit of fight (trust me, it’s taken it). The tracks below are some of what I’ve been plugged into during moments of stress and exhaustion, a truly random and diverse selection. I’m sharing it with you in case anyone needs a kick up the bum.

London 2012 Legacy. From the Olympic Park

You can play this mixtape on Spotify or YouTube.

  1. Doris Day – Keep Smilin’, Keep Laughin’, Be Happy
  2. Talking Heads – This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)
  3. Aaliyah – Try Again
  4. Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At
  5. Sleigh Bells – Comeback Kid
  6. Public Enemy – Harder Than You Think
  7. Ben Howard – Keep Your Head Up
  8. The Joy Formidable – Whirring
  9. Mystery Jets – Someone Purer
  10. The Rolling Stones – You Can’t Always Get What You Want
Leave a Reply

