From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Lido Love No.11 London Fields

with one comment

I’ve not been swimming for a couple of weeks and I’ve hugely missed it. It’s as much about that moment when you’re changed and plodding along the pavement and realise every muscle feels stretched as it is about being in the water again. But when I’m in the pool it helps clear any cobwebs in my head, almost like a factory reset.

London Fields Lido

London Fields was the Lido I have been most looking forward to. My mecca of Lido’s as my Dad would have spent much of his wayward youth in this area. It’s London’s only Olympic sized heated outdoor pool and a hefty refurbishment means it’s spick and span (apart from the smell of feet at the shallow end, dozens of damp flip-flops not making for a pleasant pong). The beauty of this being that I can daydream about swimming in the snow or fog as it’s open all year round. It was like swimming in rush hour this morning but it was fascinating to see the different sorts in the pool. Someone teaching his girlfriend to swim, kids club, a woman breaststroking with head action like a woodpecker and a ton of skillful swimmers. London Fields Lido is now my favourite pool by a country mile.

This swim is dedicated to those that didn’t make it to the water today. The crustaceans outside Hackney Central station. RIP.

RIP Crustaceans. For those that never made it

Temperature: Toasty
People doing serious swimming: Lost count. A ton
Men grabbing their danglebobbins a lot: 2
Women swimming in sunglasses: Just a lifeguard posing in a pair
Kids doing classic “bombing”: 0
People dipping their toes with iPhones in hand: 0
Cost: £4.50

☆☆☆☆

Written by Anon PA

October 13, 2012 at 12:53 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] list. Life happened and things didn’t pan out despite achieving it in parts. I have three Lido’s left to swim in London and I learnt how to ride a bike (albeit not brilliantly yet. I doubt […]


Leave a Reply

