From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

The Super Humans

with 3 comments

Each time I’ve sat down to write about the Paralympics I’ve struggled. Struggled to find the right words that convey the respect, admiration and awe I feel towards every person involved, from the competitors to volunteers. Impossible to sum up how inspired I feel. If the Olympics propelled me to start swimming and running then the Paralympics have rocketed me to show more commitment and push that little bit harder, and not just in the pool but in all areas of my life. It’s also made me feel more positive as a person, maybe I’m caught up in the hysteria of it all. I was lucky enough to get tickets for a few events, the support and roar in the venues is deafening. If I could replace the drone of my Tinnitus with it I’d be the most motivated person in the world. Still, none of these words seem like a fitting tribute to what London 2012 means to me.

Then I overheard a conversation on the train and I wanted to tell people about it.

Six typically teenage boys were on my carriage. All of them were clutching KFC bags, the grease seeping through the brown paper. All of them using words I am clueless about. All dressed as if they’d ran through JD Sports like an episode of Supermarket Sweep and finished the ensemble by taking a forward roll through New Era.

All of them discussing Oscar Pistorius and how fast he can run, all of them questioning whether Jonnie Peacock can beat him. Talking about the blades, whether the runners feel the impact on their limbs, if they feel sensation, if technology gives advantage. A conversation that is taking place only because of this great event and these super humans. A conversation that sparked debate and got them all wondering the hows, whys, whats.

During the opening ceremony for the Paralympics Stephen Hawking  told us to “be curious”. Conversations like this prove the message was received. Their questioning was done with respect and wide-eyed wonder.  This small moment during my Paralympics experience made me smile and warmed my cockles. 

Written by Anon PA

September 6, 2012 at 11:52 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] motivator in my life right now than Public Enemy’s Harder Than You Think, thanks to the Paralympics. This replaces Paul Weller’s Brand New Start which was a sadder song to make life changes […]

  2. […] all this shambolic rotten luck, because of all the wonderful amazing things landing on my doorstep (London 2012 especially inspiring, friends and families support even more […]

  3. […] mainly been all about London 2012 for me. I hope I am forever changed by the Olympics and Paralympics. It made me kinder, motivated, deliriously happy and proud to be British. Actually, proud to just […]


Leave a Reply

