From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Musical Snobbery

with 2 comments

The past few weeks I have been hitting the Facebook equivalent of a fat thumbs down on Twitter and clicking unfollow on those that display musical snobbery.

I’m not talking about people’s preference or dislike for certain bands, each to their own when it comes to music tastes. I expected a lot more from The Vaccines than what I was being lead to believe and had to refrain from scribbling that on their “What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?” posters. I happily chose a steel pan band over Mumford and Sons at a festival last year, hearing them cover Wayne Wonders No Letting Go was my preference (and mine alone, I was the only one watching them). I wouldn’t dream of belittling or sneering at those that have taken the bands I don’t grasp to heart, shouting “you idiots” at the thousands of people in a Mumford frenzy.

Down with musical snobbery! It is dire. Don’t make people feel small or stupid for still cherishing [insert someone you hate]. Recently I witnessed a harsh lampooning aimed at people still daring to listen to Oasis, spitting out disgust that music has moved on and they were vile creatures with no taste.  They’re not my cup of tea but to a lot of people those first chords of Wonderwall evoke memories of first festivals, first sexual encounters, first parka jackets. That’s part of the beauty of music surely, those places and memories we associate certain songs with. In the same way my Dad feels about hearing The Kinks for the first time I guess. But of course, The Kinks are deemed as untouchable cool so no one would ask my darling dad why he hasn’t moved on musically (which of course he has, he thinks Mark Morrison’s Return of the Mack is a great song).

Mary Mary Shackles is on my iPod even though its one of those cheesy holy R&B songs. Coldplay’s Clocks and Black Box Ride on Time are both on my running playlist. I know all the words to Betty Boo’s Doin’ The Do and it makes me smile.  If you like it then that’s enough. Don’t let anyone make you feel foolish for doing so. I guess tagging them “guilty pleasures” doesn’t help musical matters.

Written by Anon PA

August 20, 2012 at 2:11 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this post! I am often accused of having a ‘varied’ music taste. A 20 min drive with my iPod on can go from New kids on The block, to Stone Roses, to Ijahman (don’t ask). The thing I hadn’t thought about was what those songs mean to me and the memories they evoke. I love my music collection and I have my banner up in support “Boo to musical Snobbery!”

    Natasha Brown

    August 21, 2012 at 2:55 pm

  2. Here bloody here! I can’t stand it when people are down on others passions. Surely a passion in this sometimes ambivalent world can’t only be a good thing. I’m with Jarvis on this one. When he was interview on the radio a few years ago he was asked about his guilty pleasures in music and he said no pleasure is guilty 😉 Personally, you won’t be able get me up to the dance floor quick enough if No Diggity comes on.

    xxx

    rehanon

    August 22, 2012 at 11:15 am


Leave a Reply

