From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Olympic Mixtape

leave a comment »

So this weeks mixtape has been compiled by friends, family and tweeters that were willing to humour me with the following question:

“What would be your Olympic sport and what song would accompany your montage of best of moments?”

Some people were remarkably quick at replying, making me think that people have been daydreaming of Olympic glory during London 2012. Some people sent me hysterical replies (I’m looking at you Jo). Out of all the sports it seems cycling is the most popular, surprised no one picked Kenny Loggins Danger Zone and asked for it to be changed to Highway to the Velodrome (groan, sorry, a hundred times sorry!). You can play this Olympic Mixtape on Spotify or YouTube, track list and contributors below. Out of all of them I am grinning the most over Thom’s choice but huge thanks to everyone that played along as I’ve not stopped smiling at all the suggestions. More photo’s from my Olympic experiences can be found on my Flickr. Oh, and to my friend Lizzie, “six packing” is not a recognised Olympic event….yet. 

  1. 13th Floor Elevators – You’re Gonna Miss Me (Monkeypicks for the 400m)
  2. Hawkwind – Silver Machine (Lucy Track Cycling)
  3. Nina Simone – Feeling Good (Rehanon, first of a few for the Triathlon)
  4. Goldfrapp – Rocket (Burning_Lies, another for Cycling)
  5. Queen – Princes of the Universe (Thom Vincent picking fencing for a gloriously camp, extravagant event being held in Britain)
  6. Tori Amos – Professional Widow (Claire Loy, never worn a leotard but opts for Gymnastics Floor)
  7. Bruce Springsteen – Born To Run (My Dad running the Marathon)
  8. Spandau Ballet – Gold (thepubdiaries for the Kierin because it’s slightly mental)
  9. Elvis Presley – If I can Dream (Gareth choosing 1500m, on the song “you can fight a bear after hearing it, its that inspiring”)
  10. Hot Chip – Over and Over (Priyam for Table Tennis)
  11. F*ck Buttons – Olympians (Marc for the Triathlon, also dreams of winning gold in the 10k swim)
  12. Beyonce – Run The World (Natasha blasting the 100m)
  13. Anthrax – In My World (Phil also for the Keirin, the lyric “nothing touches me, I’m a walking razor blade” hits it for him)
  14. The Cinematic Orchestra – To Build A Home (Helen goes for Rowing)
  15. Gonna Fly Now (Rocky Balboa) – Bill Conti (Matt goes for Decathlon after his hero Daley Thompson)
  16. Radiohead – No Surprises (Jo opted for Synchronised Swimming, “Although I would like to imagine that the water would add an element of grace I lack on land, I think the actual effect would be more like Thom York’s slow drown in the video. You get to wear coordinating costumes and listen to music in that event”)
  17. Moloko – The Time Is Now (for me when I smash it at the Triathlon)

Leave a Reply

