From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Sunday Swoon. July 8th

with 2 comments

From old Bedlam’s bones long underground to the tallest building in London’s skyline…

1. I thought I’d have one of those rare moments of clarity when I stood with thousands of other people dotted across London waiting for The Shard to light up and laser beam its arrival across the city. Like a literal light bulb coming on in my head and telling me what I wanted to do with my life, what I had to achieve. Nothing. Still, we spend so much time ignoring one another in London it felt communal to all be littering the streets for the same spectacle and it was worth heading to London Bridge for the choral “Whooooooooooo” that resonated the moment it lit up, and the laughter that immediately followed the well-meaning, if slightly sarcastic sounding, response. For all the miseries professing the anti-climax of it all I am glad I was part of the crowd.

2. As Crossrail build a new line across London they have given archaeologists access to the sites affected, Bison to Bedlam was held in South Molton Lane on Saturday. A free exhibition which makes you see a rail company in an entirely different light but more importantly gave you access to talks from Museum of London and Oxford archaeologists. Fascinating, utterly mind-blowing. From a post-medieval chamber pot with the words “Oh what I see I will not tell” inscribed inside to a piece of amber found in canary wharf dated at 55 million years old (photo above). I do hope Crossrail continue to support their archaeology programme.

I have to mention a man called Michael Henderson who was talking us through the remains of a Bedlam patient for his superb and engaging talk, but also for his response when someone asked them if they’d named the skeleton yet. He looked bemused, furrowed his brow and said “Errr… No. We don’t really do that”.

This chap hasn’t been as lazy as I in dedicating only a couple of paragraphs. Here’s a full blog from London City Nights if you want to read a full review.

3. I had truly given up any hope of Tilly and the Wall returning after four years since their last release but Monday morning I woke to the news of an album due out in October and this new track, Love Riot. Perhaps too kitsch for some they truly are one of my favourite bands. A tap dancer instead of a drummer. What’s not to adore. This feels a bit Bow Wow Wow to my ears. 

**Follow me on Twitter here***

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had a great time at the Bison to Bedlam exhibition, really nice to Crossrail to make the effort by doing this, and there were some very interesting people in tabards to chat to. I did a full write up here if you’re interested: http://londoncitynights.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/bison-to-bedlam-crossrails.html

    London City Nights

    July 8, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    • Oh I love your write up so much, much more insightful than my piddly paragraph. Will link tot his post in mine. Really enjoyed reading so thanks for sending my way.

      Anon PA

      July 9, 2012 at 9:43 am


Leave a Reply

