From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Don’t Be Fooled Again

with one comment

A few weeks ago a whole ton of folk were yet again fooled by the media when a certain newspaper set up a lady to be the focus of our naivety. This particular newspaper isn’t the sole offender and this isn’t a new tactic. I suspect if we look back in history we’ve always been groomed to feel jealousy and competition towards the fairer sex. The whispers behind the fans and laced gloves directed at the Duchess of Devonshire, the glares at Cleopatra as she made her way down the Nile.

It’s just that I had lofty expectations we’d grown out of this behaviour and seen it for what it is. Bullying.

Someone is set up, whether it be a self penned article from someone “just like us” edited to make us gawk and spit our tea over our laptops or newspapers. Or a photo of a celebrity with “the dream” lifestyle. Cheap (and usually unintelligent) shots are fired, outrage rages to boiling point, and all the while those that set us up sit back, rub their hands and say “Ha ha! the fools took the bait yet again. Right, who’s put on a bit of weight recently in the celebrity world? Let’s run a piece on that next”.

I am tired of the media shouting “You have to hate this woman” at me, equally tired of the guilty who are falling for it and adding fuel to the fire by hurling insult and abuse.

I try to always be a good and kind person. I had terrible acne as a teenager and to say the bullying I received crippled my confidence growing up would be putting it lightly. To say that it made me acutely aware of how flippant jokes, remarks and statements can be seen by the person on the receiving end is a blessing.

Don’t be fooled again brilliant people, we are far too media savvy for that now aren’t we?

Written by Anon PA

May 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Posted in Feminism, Life

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here here Hannah! This post is really good and I’m glad you wrote it because it’s good to know I’m not the only person that gets f’d with all this crap. Mark my words though if history tells us anything scapegoats can really stir the pot when pushed and I think this is going to happen. In regards to bullying I got a place to go to private school on a scholarship when I was younger and I experienced a serious amount of hatred from some really naff girls over the fact I was what they considered common. First of all it made me really quiet and very sad and very unlike me but then fortunately Pulp came along and I realised it was okay to be different and fact it should be celebrated. I can now look back with gratefulness at that period in my life because it defined me as person. I learnt earlier than most how to cut through the BS some people give you and the importance of being kind above all other things oh yeah and not giving a shit about what people who don’t care you about think. As for you my love I can see that period only added to your apparent fabulousness so well done you 😉 xxx

    Rehanon

    May 23, 2012 at 11:07 am


Leave a Reply

