From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Sunday Swoon. May 13th

leave a comment »

Naughty words in 12A films, a bee singing in a cafe and Richard Hawley with PMT….

1. Beautiful gig at The Gallery Cafe in Bethnal Green on Tuesday night for Sea of Bees even if a small, narrow venues mean I spend a lot of time on tip-toes straining to see. She is perfection live, understated and an endearing mix of vulnerability and charm. Highlights including Gnomes, Skinnybone and a cover of  John Denver’s Leaving On A Jet Plane. Would recommend this venue to Londoners, bargain drink prices, decent looking menu and intimate setting for music. However, get there early to ensure a clear view.

2. I picked this book up on Tuesday morning as I dashed out the house and realised I had no reading material in my bag (and therefore risked eye contact with strangers. scary) & I couldn’t put it down. I was reading it under my desk at work (the book concealed under the desk, not I). For anyone who adores words and has a streak of geekiness in them then The Etymologicon by Mark Forsyth (The Inky Fool) is a must read. Engaging, educational, quirky and delicious. Left me pondering whether Destiny’s Child know they’re sang about burglars in bugaboo?

3. I hate spoilers so I shan’t say much about Avengers Assemble other than it was epically brilliant with moments of comedic aceness. Also, I doff my cap to Joss Whedon for getting the word ‘Quim’ into a 12A unnoticed. If you happen to be one of the few that’s not been enticed by this yet then it’s well worth the extortionate cinema prices.

4. Richard Hawley has gone all dark and mardy and it suits him. No more poetic wanderings through the streets, no more lamenting over the end of a relationship at Valentines. Standing At The Sky’s Edge is exposed, raw and something has given him the hump. It suits him.

5. The Cribs have also released their album In The Belly Of The Brazen Bull this week. It’s tin-can gritty chip your tooth drunk, harking back to the early, less slick, days of The Cribs. Therefore it is bloody excellent.  

**Follow me on Twitter here***

Leave a Reply

