From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Sunday Swoon. April 22nd

leave a comment »

A book for a book, roses in Trafalgar Square, a letter and The Band….

1. On Carnaby Street, in Kingly Court, there has popped up a book exchange. It’s essentially a free library where you can drop off a book that you have read and leave with another that you’ve plucked from the shelves. I love this communal idea, where you not only get a new book but you can leave comments and share memories or recommendations. It’s like a huge hippy book club and suits the ethos that Carnaby Street stood for in the sixties. Curated by students from the London College of Fashion. The first book I spotted was one of my favourite books, The People of Providence by Tony Parker. I urge all you bookworms to take part.

2. Album of the week is Mariee Sioux, Gift For The End. Honest, simple, vintage sounding folk music from a lady so young singing songs that are so very old and wise. You can listen on Spotify.

3. Trafalgar Square smelt like an English Rose garden on Saturday. In amongst the fauna and flora I got chatting to a lovely lady from Capital Growth. They organise community food-growing spaces in urban areas. Having been on my boroughs allotment waiting list for two years this is a great way to get involved if you feel like sticking your fingers in some soil. You can see what’s happening in your local area by visiting their website.

4. On the passing of Levon Helm, drummer with The Band, this week my Dad said “another great musician bites the dust”. A day later he was followed by Bert Weedon, the man who taught so many people to play guitar. Really sad week for music to lose such important and inspirational characters. Whilst shuffling around YouTube to find something appropriate to add to this list I came across this documentary with The Band and it’s definitely worth a watch.

5. I am sometimes a better friend the further away you are from me geographically. This is because I love writing letters and making parcels for people. This week I was on the receiving end of a package from dear friend Pea who has been exiled to Australia. It arrived on a day where I needed it most and made me howl with laughter and cry tears of missing her sadness. From a letter the size of a small booklet which included a list of music she has recently found and loved (An Horse, Frankie Rose, Lemonade, Wooden Shjips) to a Kaleidoscope that I haven’t put down (experimenting with photography above). Send someone something, anything. It will make their week. 

**Follow me on Twitter here***

Written by Anon PA

April 22, 2012 at 11:42 am

Leave a Reply

