From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Sunday Swoon. April 8th

with one comment

A holiday camp under tunnels, The Futureheads in a church, David Hockney’s epic collection. London never fails to delight me…

1. The Futureheads at Union Chapel this Wednesday were achingly sublime , faultless and I was completely smitten. My full review for Flush The Fashion can be read here so I shan’t reiterate my point, a few photos from the evening are on my Flickr. I implore you to catch them if you’re a curious and genuine music lover that wants to hear something brand new. Their album Rant is also out this week and has pretty much constantly played along with the album featured below.

2. I feel like I’ve been waiting an age for this album to arrive, from the moment Will Self  declared it his most anticipated album of 2012 via a rare Twitter appearance, to the change of release date putting it back. Internet Forever are simply a perfect band to me. Melodies, catchy sing along lyrics, pop, shoegazing, eerie 60’s undertones, indie. They make you feel as if you’re listening to all your favourite genres in one go without being crowded, overly complicated or scenester.

3. One of my very favourite London venues, The Old Vic Tunnels, once again came up top trumps over Easter Weekend with their pop-up Holiday Camp. Brilliant DJ playing the right amount of classic tack and pop to shake your jelly, indoor campfire, badminton. Old memories of summer holidays under the grey, dank, dark tunnels. Although hitting the bouncy castle on a full stomach of gin was not our wisest decision of the night. 

4. Sean Penn + Francis McDormand + the music of David Byrne had to only = a film I would love. This Must Be The Place is tragic, heart cracking sad but ultimately weirdly funny and redemptive. Actually found myself making triumphant and jubilant “aaahh” and “yyyeeaaayyy” noises at the screen.

“Dark flowers bloom in the autumnal garden that grows inside of me”

5. Being organised comes in handy when you can smugly walk past a very woeful but determined looking line of people chancing their luck at trying to get into David Hockney. Had I not pre booked I’m not sure I’d have lasted out in the rain. The Yorkshire landscapes made me feel nostalgic for my country upbringing in Devon. Luscious valleys reminiscent of Totnes. His paintings are overwhelming, from charcoal sketches to the colossal connected canvases painted from memory, to the same country tunnel revisited during the seasons. Definitely had an art high yesterday. Final day today just incase my words that don’t do it justice inspire you to run down to the Royal Academy of Arts. 

**Follow me on Twitter here***

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. For somebody who hates museum (bad Londoner) I really enjoyed the Hockney exhibition! Luckily avoided the rain too – we’re both ahead of the game. I hope you also joined in on the super geeky//goofy trend and walked around with the audio accompaniment!

    youarenotlostyouarehere

    April 12, 2012 at 10:55 pm


Leave a Reply

