From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Sunday Swoon. April 1st

with 2 comments

A week where I finished a book full of freaks and loved them all, spent hours being wowed by graphic art at Somerset House and discovered Afternoon Shift…

1. When I first started reading Katherine Dunn’s Geek Love I tweeted that I was more than a little disturbed by it. Thankfully people convinced me to persist. Yes it stems from a slightly sick and twisted imagination but the result makes the ugliest of things quite beautiful. It’s like the love child of Angela Carter and Neil Gaiman.

2. Something had to come along to stop my brain shouting “GRIMES” at me every time I paused when deciding what album to put on. Grinderman 2 RMX appears, for the moment, to be that album. The Joshua Homme remix of Mickey Bloody Mouse is something quite special. I can be guilty of dismissing remix albums as lazy but this doesn’t lack in imagination and is brilliantly produced. You can listen to is on Spotify here.

3. The Daily Mash had me in hysterics over their festival for twats piece this week. If there was ever an article I wish had come from my brain it could be this one.

4. Somerset House have hosted a contemporary graphic art fair called Pick Me Up. Thanks to good egg Jo I was able to cram in on the final day and was completely overwhelmed by the standard of artists on display. Oh to be rich and snap everything up. From Paul X Johnson’s soft and romantic figures to Zim & Zou’s paper Polaroid camera’s. Extensive, vast, varied and washed down with coffee and ham and piccalilli rolls.This really deserves a post of its own, you can find photos on my Flickr.

5. Huge thanks to @goodstufftom who put me on to Afternoon Shift this week. I will use his words “informative, clever and not stuffy at all”. For radio fans please give it a listen

**Follow me on Twitter here***

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Been wondering whether to buy the Grinderman rmx album as these things are always a little hit and miss – though this is Cave and Ellis – so why am I doubting them? I salute The Daily Mash most days – and also the Oatmeal – have you seen http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=aHpDPuh8A2Q

    Editor

    April 1, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    • I played Grinderman original and remix back to back the other day and… shock horror… actually preferred the remix! Let me know what you think when you get round to listening. Love The Oatmeal as well! Modern Toss was also at the graphic art fair.

      Anon PA

      April 1, 2012 at 4:42 pm


Leave a Reply

