From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Sunday Swoon. February 19th

with 3 comments

Fourth Sunday swoon. Curry, Art & Music….

1. My love affair with the British Museum is ever-growing, a fortnight ago I fell in love with the Norman Foster roof, I could have laid down and watched the sky turn from ocean blue to velvet-black (curators at The British Museum can you fix it for me to sleep over one night please? I’ll behave). Last night I made a pilgrimage to the Grayson Perry exhibition, I blogged about it yesterday and you can read it here if you missed it. This article in The Guardian by the man himself is also worth a read.

2. After many thwarted attempts I finally got to try out the Kennington Tandoori on Thursday, my soon to be brother-in-law has never once failed with restaurant suggestions and this is his go-to Indian restaurant when in London. I’ve always thought Tayyabs would be impossible to topple from my top slot but after scoffing their Nilgiri Murgh (a chicken dish heavy on the mint, not like anything I’ve tried before) I am hooked. Can’t recommend it enough to any foodies out there. Also adored the map of India printed in their menu (above). 10/10 for the KT.

3. Ever underrated Field Music get my album of the week, it neatly takes me from flat to desk in 35 minutes. This is their fourth album, it’s short and sweet. I love the simple melodies mixed with the complex music on this album. You can listen to Field Music for free here if you’re curious (via Spotify)

4. For the first time in many many moons I gave a flying toss about the song at the top of the charts this week. I tell you what, it was a nice feeling. Took me back to my teenage years spent squatting in front of the tape deck with my hand hovering over play and record, ready to tape the top 40. Also, allowed a tiny bit of faith to creep into my bones over folk showing some good taste (eek! hope that doesn’t sound snobby?). Congratulations to Gotye.

5. Something about Richard Hawley sends me into a proper tizz, weak at the knees, glazed over adoration. He’s popped up on a B-side collaboration with indie cool kids Arctic Monkeys on this track You & I. It’s dirty, gritty, dark and he utterly steals the limelight on this track. 

**Follow me on Twitter here***

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m quite a fan of this new Gotye track. It was my Music Monday blog post last week! Your mix tapes are ace, I love them – especially your 2011 one. Ahh the memories of 3 months back. So long ago. *cue violin music and wobbly screen effects for nostalgia scene*

    youarenotlostyouarehere

    February 19, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    • Haha – thank you so much! Loved last year for music, already shaping up to be another amazing year. I just don’t feel like time is fair as days seem to whizz past me at the moment, too much to grab and pay attention too!!!

      Anon PA

      February 20, 2012 at 1:23 pm

  2. I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers


Leave a Reply

