From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

2011 Definitive, J’adore, Batshit, Swoon Mixtape

with one comment

I first started compiling my picks of 2011 back in July and have intentionally not revisited the list, interested to see if the final list will be utterly and completely different given the multiple personalities that seem to tiptoe out of me through my music choices.

Twitter spoke when I asked how many tracks should make up this list, the majority said 50 so here they are (in no particular order as that would have been as painful as picking my favourite Rum)

You can play the mixtape via Spotify or YouTube. Enjoy reminiscing over 2011’s music and let me know what I’ve missed so I can kick myself! 

1 Slow Club – Beginners 2 Metronomy – She Wants
3 Little Scream – Boatman 4 Lykke Li – Sadness Is A Blessing
5 Ghostpoet – Us Against Whatever Ever 6 Brett Anderson – Brittle Heart
7 Florence + The Machine – Shake It Out 8 Sissy & The Blisters – Let Her Go
9 Hooray For Earth – True Loves 10 Beyonce – Countdown
11 Bjork – Cosmogony 12 Sleigh Bells – Riot Rhythm
13 Anna Calvi – Black Out 14 Josh T. Pearson – Country Dumb
15 Lana Del Rey – Videogames 16 Wye Oak – Civilian
17 Beirut – Santa Fe 18 Bombay Bicylce Club – Shuffle
19 I Break Horses – Winter Bears 20 The Horrors – Still Life
21 The Kills – The Last Goodbye 22 Michael Kiwanuka – I’m Getting Ready
23 Emmy The Great – Iris 24 Wild Beasts – Bed Of Nails
25 Friends – I’m His Girl 26 The Drums – Money
27 Theme Park – A Mountain We Love 28 Black Keys – Lonely Boy
29 Wu Lyf – We Bros 30 Zulu Winter – Let’s Move Back To Front
31 Summer Camp – Better Off Without You 32 Tom The Lion – Golden
33 Friendly Fires – Blue Cassette 34 PJ Harvey – The Words That Maketh Murder
35 St. Vincent – Cruel 36 Joy Formidable – Whirring
37 Gang Gang Dance – Mindkilla 38 Wild Flag – Boom
39 Battles – Ice Cream 40 R.E.M – Uberlin
41 Au Palais – Tender Mercy 42 Metronomy – The Look
43 Bon Iver – Holocene 44 SBTRKT – Hold On
45 Gil Scott-Heron – I’ll Take Care Of U 46 Black Lips – Family Tree
47 M83 – Midnight City 48 The Maccabees – Pelican
49 Field Music – (I Keep Thinking) A New Thing 50 Summer Camp – 1988
Written by Anon PA

December 30, 2011 at 1:11 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Desky,
    I’ve had time to listen to your playlist this morning- it’s compelling! I had forgotten so many tracks and artists- and you’ve introduced me to some amazing tunes there too (I’ve just played Theme Park- A Mountain We Love on an endless loop and danced crazily around the kitchen). The Sissy and the Blisters track is brilliant- video maybe not so!

    There are some artists I clearly need to listen to more (Summer Camp, Slow Club, SBTRKT, Wye Oak). And of course there are tracks in there which don’t quite cut the mustard for me. I need to try harder to understand the appeal of Bjork!

    You did tick the Metronomy, Wild Beasts, Lykke Li, St Vincent boxes that would be in mine if I compiled a list. I possibly would’ve added a Feist track, like Graveyard, or Anti-Pioneer, and maybe a track from Lisa Hannigan’s album too.

    However, cheers, I really enjoyed listening. And there is a definite sound of Summer in the mix!

    Well, this has turned into an essay, but I suppose I’m always looking for new things to listen to.

    I think I’ll have to compile my own list for 2012. Who doesn’t love lists?
    Thank you,
    The best, Rich. @foxyinthebox

    Rich @foxyinthebox

    January 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm


Leave a Reply

