From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

A Christmas Mixtape

leave a comment »

When I was a small child I used to decorate the house by unwrapping every Lil-let I could find in the house and hang them from the Christmas tree or sellotape them dangling from the window frames. I was too young to know what their real purpose in life was for. However, I must have known it was wrong as I would only ever Blue Peter the house up, using sanitary products, when my mums back was turned. I remember still feeling slightly perplexed as she frantically ran round the house tearing down all my hard work before guests arrived.

Inevitably one fluffy white icicle would always remain unspotted, which possibly spurred me on to keep repeating this action until I was old enough to know better.

Merry Christmas to everyone that’s ever supported, stumbled upon, shrugged off this blog. Hang an unused tampon from your doorbell this year if you want to scare away the carol singers. This tip (and the mixtape below) are my gift to you.

Click here to play the mixtape. I’m especially fond of Jarvis Cocker dancing in Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds video, and if you have never heard Cyndi Lauper & The Hives, In A Christmas Duel, you will instantly want to dangle mistletoe over their heads and snog their faces off. ♥

  1.  Emmy The Great & Tim Wheeler – (Don’t Call Me) Mrs Christmas
  2.  Saint Etienne – I Was Born On Christmas Day
  3.  Cyndi Lauper & The Hives –  In A Christmas Duel
  4.  Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Fifteen Foot Of Pure White Snow
  5.  Lynrd Skynrd – Santa’s Messin’ With The Kids
  6.  Ike & Tina Turner – Merry Christmas Baby
  7.  Summer Camp – All I Wonderful Christmas Is You
  8.  Yeah Yeah Yeahs – All I Want For Christmas
  9.  Dolly Parton – Hard Candy Christmas
  10. The Ronettes – Sleigh Ride
  11. The Pogues & Kirsty McColl – Fairytale Of New York
  12. Bob Dylan – Hark The Herald Angels Sing
  13. Kate Bush – December Will Be Magic Again
  14. Wham – Last Christmas
  15. Al Green – The Christmas Song
  16. Mariah Carey – All I Want For Christmas Is You
  17. She & Him – Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree
  18. The Kills – Silent Night
  19. Elvis Presley & Martina McBride – Blue Christmas
  20. Clarence Carter – Back Door Santa
  21. Sufjan Stevens – Put The Lights On The Tree
  22. Slow Club – Christmas TV
  23. The Maccabees – Home Alone Medley
  24. Darlene Love – Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)

Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Leave a Reply

