From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

December 12th Mixtape. “Heartbreaking but redemptive”

with one comment

This mixtape is for someone on Twitter who gave me the challenge of compiling tracks that were;

“heartbreaking but redemptive. A journey from the end of things to the start of something new”.

My life has a constant soundtrack, it keeps step with me when I’m dancing, whispers at my shoulder when I’m at a loss, brings forgotten memories to the forefront of my mind, a companion when I’m alone. I usually write about the tracks I pick but felt this would take something away from the songs I’ve chosen. I want the person I made this for to find their own meaning in the lyrics. Enjoy.

 If you’re a spotify user click here to play the mixtape, for YouTube click here

  1. Blur – No Distance Left To Run
  2. Antony & The Johnsons – Hope There’s Someone
  3. Peggy Lee – It Never Entered My Mind
  4. James Taylor – Fire & Rain
  5. LCD Soundsystem – Someone Great
  6. The Kills – The Last Goodbye
  7. Walker Brothers – No Regrets
  8. Sam Cooke – A Change Is Gonna Come
  9. Foals – Spanish Sahara
  10. Mercury Rev – The Dark Is Rising

Follow me on Twitter or Facebook

Written by Anon PA

December 12, 2011 at 11:07 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just listened to this while I took a break from sewing my Marilyn Monroe outfit for New Year and it hit the nail right on the head. I’ve just had a good old happy cry and much needed it was too. 2011 was a heartbreaker for me but listening to beautiful redemptive music like this you feel exactly that redeemed and reminded me that it all cycles on and ultimately you come out the other side. Thanks very much honey x

    Rehanon

    December 20, 2011 at 1:14 pm


Leave a Reply

