From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

November 13th Mixtape. For Ghosts Of Gone Birds

with 3 comments

This weeks playlist is dedicated to the fantastic team behind Ghosts Of Gone Birds.

When I was a wee nipper Sunday afternoons used to be all about walking round Berry Head with my Dad. The end destination being the cliffs where a colony of Guillemots used to flock. Our house was covered in ivy, home to what sounded like a million birds all tweeting. My mixtape choices this week are all bird related tunes for childhood memories, our feathered friends and for the ghosts of gone birds.

Please visit this vast exhibition at the Rochelle School in East London and set aside a good chunk of time, you have until November 23rd and it’s free (donations welcome). There is so much to see and the good souls manning the decks are brilliant to talk to. I spent an age outside with an artist who sandblasts, watching him create a flock of birds in flight. By the time I wandered inside I had given him the idea to stencil tiles as he was miffed that his art couldn’t be sold. He has promised me half a shandy if the idea takes off.

Most important is the message Ghosts Of Gone Birds are trying to paint the sky with. They are truly passionate about the plight of our winged friends. I loved going to an exhibition that welcomed photography, saying it was important their message is spread as much as possible. My photos can’t begin to capture the strength of the artists on display, where else would you see a knitted Great Auk by author Margaret Atwood? My very favourite was a whole room of Ralph Steadman cartoons, who is best known for his work with Hunter S. Thompson. Ah, sublime little room of birds, I wish I could have stayed longer.

If you’re a Spotify user click here to play the mixtape and if you’re a YouTube purist click here to play the videos.

  1. They Might Be Giants – Birdhouse In Your Soul
  2. The Bees – Chicken Payback
  3. Patrick Wolf – The Falcons
  4. The Byrds – Turn! Turn! Turn!
  5. The Dead Weather – 3 Birds
  6. The Civil Wars – Birds Of A Feather
  7. Wild Beasts – Albatross
  8. Pulp – Birds In Your Garden
  9. Goldfrapp – Little Bird
  10. Fleetwood Mac – Songbird
Follow me on Twitter & Facebook
3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Big favourite of mine with birds in the title.
    Almost 20 years old now. Blimey!

    Matt

    November 14, 2011 at 12:35 pm

  2. Loved the Ghosts exhibition, too. Just fantastic. Interestingly, I used to be a voluntary ranger at Berry Head in my teens helping to look after the birds and plants there. That was in the 80s. Looking forward to listening to the mixtape later this evening.

    Ken Turnip

    November 15, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    • WOW! Not many people I come across that know Berry Head out here on cyber space. Pleased to meet you! Such fond memories of walking around there, still hasn’t changed a bit since I was born in 77 which is something quite special!! Hope you enjoy the music.

      Anon PA

      November 15, 2011 at 7:31 pm


Leave a Reply

