From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

November 1st Mixtape Guest Blog from Bob Winckworth

with one comment

I am truly racking them up now. Both Dan Thompson and Thom Vincent have contributed their mixtapes, now it’s the turn of Bob Winckworth. I love looking through people’s record collections, this is a cyber way of doing just that! I geek out to find bands I’ve never heard of one second to then be surprised at certain songs people profess a love for. He’s opted for a mixture of relatively new and old and you can read about his choices below. I particularly love Bobs inclusion of the Bee Gees and his use of the phrase “good-looking swine” and shall endeavour to use it as much as possible.

If you’re a Spotify user click here to play Bob’s mixtape.

1. Fairport Convention – Matty Groves (A favourite Fairport Convention song of mine. I love the foot tapping beat besides the tale of adultery and love).

2. I Like Trains – Terra Nova  (Sometimes I forget about I Like Trains. Their first EP and album feature songs based on historical events. Terra Nova recalls Scott’s expedition to the Antarctic. Other topics have included the murder of Spencer Percival, Dr. Beeching and witch trials. Usually epic and brooding, this remains my favourite of theirs. Very good band, should be playing bigger places than the Horse & Groom).

3. Caitlin Rose – Sinful Wishing Well (I could write a whole blog post about how much I love Caitlin Rose. First came to my attention when Marc Riley played ‘For The Rabbits’ on his show. Since then I’ve seen her at every London date. This is from her first full album, ‘Own Side Now’. There’s a fragility and sadness in her voice which I find rather charming. She’s really good live, terribly modest and very very funny).

4. The Waterboys – White Birds (From ‘An Appointment with Mr. Yeats’, their adaptation of a Yeats’ poem. Wonderful arrangements. There’s a risk of coming across as pretentious when one adapts poetry to music, but Mike Scott has past experience and is smart enough to ensure it sounds anything but).

5.  The Smithereens – Behind The Wall Of Sleep (I have no idea when I started listening to The Smithereens. Maybe after I watched the Bogey film ‘In A Lonely Place’, which, coincidentally is another Smithereens title. Anyway, I just really love this groove).

6. The Triffids – Born Sandy Devotional (There are three different recorded versions of this song. A truncated version on the original pressing of ‘In The Pines’, this version appears on the remastered edition of that album. Another take with a harder, bigger sound appears on the album ‘Born Sandy Devotional’. Such an understated band, particularly when compared with fellow Australians The Go Betweens. David McComb was a very good writer and a good-looking swine. Such a tragedy that he is no longer with us).

7. When Saints Go Machine – Church and Law (Very dreamy. This is from their second album, ‘Konkylie’ which apparently means ‘conch shell’ in Danish and isn’t about scamming an antipodean sex midget. That’s not Anthony Hegarty singing, though doesn’t it sound like him? A lovely, relaxing album).

8. Jimmy Walker – Where Do We Go From Here?  (From the OST to ‘Vanishing Point’, the cult classic film from 1971. Such a brilliant album, and this is a stonking track. The title is in keeping with the existential crisis that appears to trouble the lead character, Kowalski. Purely by chance I’m sure).

9. Bee Gees – Odessa (City On The Black Sea (This is the title track from their 1969 double album, which is just mind-blowing good. A musical hotspot tinged with lavish arrangements, wonderful harmonies, and occasional hat tips to country music. I love the Bee Gees).

10. The Clancy Brothers & Tommy Macken – The Parting Glass (I think this is solely Liam Clancy singing. I was fortunate enough to see him before he passed away a couple of years ago. This arrangement makes me want to weep).

Follow me on Twitter & Facebook
Written by Anon PA

October 31, 2011 at 10:31 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good to know about your blogs I have Visit and I am very much inspired from you article.

    Thanks for post.

    Mixtapes

    January 3, 2014 at 3:34 pm


Leave a Reply

