From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

September 19th Mixtape

leave a comment »

This weeks mixtape is being brought to you by a girl with a very sore head who is sincerely quite shocked that they exist without booze being the prelude. So I must forewarn you to start reading with low expectations. My weekend of skipping around Open House London was annoyingly cut short when on Saturday afternoon I had to finally admit to myself that I did actually have flu and wasn’t just trying to outdo the boy Lolita’s hangover.

Of course it could just be my body’s way of telling me to chill the flippin’ heck out. Last week wasn’t the best. Remember that job I blogged all excited about? Well three days in I discover the company are going down the swanny and will be closing at Christmas. Having just been through the panic of finding a job it’s unsettling to know you need to put yourself out there again. In this current climate job hunting takes time, energy – it’s a full-time job in itself. It’s rotten luck but what can I do but start all over again (while trying to dampen the simmering resentment currently bubbling away in the pit of my stomach). My flatmate has cleverly pitched this turn of events to me as a chance to sort out exactly what I want to do so I can “nail destiny up the arsehole”.

That low came after the excellent high of The Thames Festival and I also got to review Brian Wilson at The Royal Festival Hall for Flush The Fashion. All this on top off the aforementioned Open House. So in spite of bad news London still delivered culture, creativity and entertainment. Ever reliable beautiful London.

This weeks mixtape is as random as last week was for me. Just so you’re aware, the lyrics in Sleeper “Tore up all your photos, didn’t feel too clever, spent the whole of Monday, sticking you together”… I chuffin’ well love that line.

Click on mixtape to play via Spotify.

  1. Jose Germain – Tout Le Monde Veut Devenir Un Cat
  2. The Beach Boys – Don’t Worry Baby
  3. Pulp – Underwear
  4. Sleeper – What Do I Do Now?
  5. The Cribs – You Were Always The One
  6. Echo & The Bunnymen – Bring On The Dancing Horses
  7. Talking Heads – Slippery People
  8. Arctic Monkeys – Love Is A Laserquest
  9. Brett Anderson – Brittle Heart
  10. Television – Marquee Moon
PS. Yes that is a pretentious French version of Everybody wants to be a cat from Aristocats in case you’re wondering. Indulge me this once.

Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Written by Anon PA

September 20, 2011 at 12:15 pm

Leave a Reply

