From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

July 10th Mixtape

with one comment

Happy Sunday Evening Music Lovers!

I am a WRECK today. It was Lolita’s birthday bash yesterday, tons of us all crammed on to his Mum’s wonderful, magical house boat in fancy dress. I honestly can’t remember seeing anyone without a drink in their hand, especially my flat mate and Lolita’s mum who seemed to egg one another on to some huge gin-fest! The boy looked very happy, which is the main thing.

I took a chalk board and, in secret, asked everyone there to write one word that sprang to mind when they think of him. Then took their portrait with my new kick-ass wide-angle lens. Super fun project and well received when he finally saw the album I put together today. Feel free to plagiarise for your loved ones when the occasion arises.

Perhaps my favourite moment was rowing out on the Grand Union Canal at midnight in a little boat with the flatmate & partner. Why anyone in their sane mind thought that was a great idea I don’t know, but after passing a ‘rave boat’ playing 90’s techno we dedicated our row to singing 90’s songs. All the stars were out, bats were skimming over the water ahead of us as we sang Seal – Kiss From A Rose (is the song I remember most vividly). I love that level of drunk where any rhyme or reason leaves you open to special and random moments.

I don’t love the level of drunk where you hit the decks LITERALLY. I am typing this one-handed so it’s taking me a while. It’s always me that is the casualty, drunk or sober. Six years ago I broke my wrist quite spectacularly & horrendously at a roller disco (again in fancy dress) and have had to be very careful with it since. Last night I slipped on the decking and as a result gave it a bashing again like the idiot I am (that could be my DJ name. Idiot.I.Am). As the night progressed it got worse… and worse…and worse. I was shaking all over like I had a fever, Lolita had passed out way past his bedtime. In my head trying to get back from the middle of nowhere to my flat just for strong painkillers & a wrist support seemed my best option. Except I couldn’t quite dress myself so ended up stumbling out in a mickey-mouse t-shirt he’d put on me for bed, my tights & a blanket wrapped around me. I remember thinking that my Mum would be very disappointed at how dirty my shoes were, nevermind the lack of bottoms. It all felt very Crimewatch reconstruction at 4am this morning.

But I battled on, made it home to bring you a mixtape that will be a bunch of random choices again, the last three tracks are for the birthday boy. Click on Spotify to play it. From my sickbed. Enjoy! ♥

  1. SBTRKT – Wildfire
  2. Cut Copy – Where I’m Going
  3. Yuck – Get Away
  4. All Saints – Pure Shores
  5. Pulp – Pink Glove
  6. Grinderman – Palaces Of Montezuma
  7. Oh Land – Wof & I
  8. Foals – Spanish Sahara
  9. Nick Drake – At The Chime Of A City Clock
  10. Cat Stevens – If You Want To Sing Out, Sing Out
Follow me on Twitter & Facebook!
Written by Anon PA

July 10, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Posted in Mixtape

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] was flying ants. If it wasn’t flying ants it was power cuts. I myself am one hand down after taking a tumble at the weekend, I felt miserable at work, I came home to no hot water, I had moaned constantly […]


Leave a Reply

