From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

June 19th Mixtape – Guest Blog From My Dad

leave a comment »

It’s not Bob, Mick, Keith, Scott, James or Ray who is the man most influential in my love for music. From the moment I plopped onto this planet with the umbilical cord wrapped around my neck, screaming blue murder, my Dad has been playing music to me. As a baby, when my mum would go out, the 8 tracks or LP’s would come out and with the volume up as loud as it would go my Dad would dance around with me, swinging me in his arms. I know all this because it was a constant battle between my parents, my mum thought it would damage my tiny eardrums. My ears are fine, but this early introduction to music is responsible for what is essentially the great love of my life.

It seems only right that I handed over the reigns to him for this weeks mix tape seeing as it’s Fathers Day. I asked him for a few tracks he thinks everyone should listen to as a music lover, he took it very seriously and found it nearly impossible whittling it down. Mum claimed my Dad is massively sexist for not having any female artists in his final list. Click on Spotify or the links in the blog to hear this ‘guest’ mix-tape.

Happy Fathers Day Dad – a man who has raised me to be considerate, kind, patient, interested in others and to always have a soundtrack in my life. β™₯

  1. Gordon Lightfoot – If You Could Read My Mind
  2. The Kinks – Waterloo Sunset
  3. Sam Cooke – A Change Is Gonna Come
  4. The Verve – The Drugs Don’t Work
  5. Abraham, Martin Β & John – Marvin Gaye
  6. Tom Petty & The Heartbreak – I Won’t Back Down
  7. Neil Young – Rockin’ In The Free World
  8. James Taylor – You’ve Got A Friend
  9. The Who – Substitute
  10. The Rolling Stones – Satisfaction
  11. The Animals – House Of The Rising Sun
  12. Van Morrisson – Brown Eyed Girl
  13. Bob Seger – We’ve Got Tonight
  14. Bob Dylan – Like A Rolling Stone
Written by Anon PA

June 19, 2011 at 9:35 am

Posted in Mixtape, Music

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

