From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Down With Music Snobbery

with 2 comments

Glastonbury excitement has truly kicked in the past 24 hours, not just because I found a load of Berocca left over from last year so I can make morning Verocca (the liquid element being vodka), and not even because of a very exciting reason I will reveal nearer the time (mysterious moi).

The uncontrollable, hyper, catch your breath excitement kicked in when a *friend, who will be turning 40 at Glastonbury this year, emailed me. I’m paraphrasing, but the basic message was how there wasn’t that many bands he was dying to see so this year was going to be his DJ year. That he was really looking forward to it all no matter who was on and his excitement, as always, shone through.

That, my friends, is the spirit!

One thing that’s truly grated me was the kick against the headliners at Glastonbury this year, the amount of people on social networking sites alone ranting about the line up seemed at an all time high. Here is the deal, you buy a ticket not knowing who the line up is. You have the opportunity to give up your ticket through the deposit scheme once some acts are announced if you’re dead set against them. If you willingly take the risk of paying the balance and you’re then disappointed with the overall line up then there really is only one choice as I see it.

That choice being commit to a ticket, commit to FUN BAGS!!

Musical snobbery is a sad and woeful thing, we should all be able to embrace whatever tickles our ear buds. Equally we should be able to express disgust and disappointment as well, but if you’ve paid up then joy up!!

Honestly, the headliners don’t particularly get me breathless but no one is forcing me to see them. We have free will my friends, and there is more than one field at Glastonbury to express that. You can’t please all of the people all of the time, even with over sixty stages it seems!

*Said friend is Irish and even he’s not bothered by U2 it seems. I have however deliberately chosen this clip from Glastonbury because I suspect a lot of people moaning about U2 were present at this moment last year and will remember it always. I’m not a U2 fan either but don’t tell me you didn’t sing along.

Written by Anon PA

June 16, 2011 at 8:32 pm

Posted in Glastonbury, Music

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m totally with you and even though I probably won’t be watching U2 this year I was singing along to that tune last year and it’s definately well lodged in my long term memory. Personally, I’m not excited about any of the 3 Pyramid headliners, but that’s not a bad thing at all. As you say, there are so many stages and it actually gives me more of an opportunity to maybe catch something like DJ Shadow, The Streets, Queens of the Stone Age, Chemical Brothers, Fatboy Slim or Primal Scream… And I’m not even starting to list the smaller stages!! I’m very excited and don’t care for one minute who headlines any one particular stage.

    thebunnyisfree

    June 18, 2011 at 10:33 pm

  2. […] wipes, wellies and moonshine at the ready. I’ve already blogged about Festival Fashion and Musical Snobbery, I’m stretching out the topic of my favourite festival in excitement and […]


Leave a Reply

