From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

June 5th Mix Tape

leave a comment »

Second Sunday in a row, except I’m going to be terribly lazy and replicate a CD I made for Lolita recently. He’s been playing it all week and keeps telling me how much he loves it. I’ve made him tons of compilations since we met, it’s my favourite thing to do for someone. Playlist can be found on *Spotify.

So while he’s doing the washing up I thought I’d quickly post this weeks mix tape. It’s been a tiring week. I’ve changed bosses and am now ultra busy, I’ve lurked around the Southbank a lot, swooned over Tracey Emins exhibition, swooned even more over Fleet Foxes at Hammersmith Apollo. so this Sunday is all about staying indoors listening to music, getting excited about all the new releases tomorrow (Sebastian, Black Lips, White Denim, Arctic Monkeys & Battles – who I will be going to see on Wednesday). Any others I’ve missed that I should know about?

Tracklisting

  1. Metronomy – The Bay. (I know it sounds a bit naff but this is “our song”. I grew up on The English Riviera and we recently took a pilgrimage to the place Metronomy’s album is all about, there is a blog post to come on this as soon as I edit down how gushing I sound in it)
  2. Cut Copy – Need You Now
  3. Justice – Civilization (must be pronounced in a French accent)
  4. Architecture in Helsinki – Contact High
  5. INXS – Need You Tonight
  6. Prince – Take Me With U
  7. Santigold Feat. Karen O – Go
  8. Kasabian – Me Plus One
  9. The Clash – Train in Vain
  10. Young Knives – Human Again
  11. PJ Harvey – Good Fortune
  12. Matt Berry – Take My Hand
  13. Villagers – That Day
  14. Wye Oak – Civilian
  15. Fleet Foxes – Someone You’d Admire
*There were a couple of tracks that Spotify failed me on
  • An excellent, stripped down cover version of The Cars Just What I Needed by Sparrow in the Workshop. I love this band, they sound like The Breeders & Hole in the 21st century. I’ve linked the video below.
  • The Courteeners –  That Kiss
  • Adorable Kitty, Daisy & Lewis – I’m So Sorry
  • The Middle East – Blood
Written by Anon PA

June 5, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Posted in Mixtape, Music

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

