From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Morrissey Dumped for PJ Harvey

leave a comment »

Such is the power of music that an ex-colleague from four years ago emailed me out of the blue today. To share with me that she loves the new PJ Harvey album, and I quote “it’s pure genius. Perhaps where Morrissey once was but no longer is”.

High accolade indeed from one of the Morrissey faithful. More on the man himself another time.

Little moments like this make me tingle, that your ears register an amazing sound and you want to share it with someone. Even if that someone is a person who you haven’t been in touch with for a while, just because you know they will appreciate it in the same way you do.

Quite rightly so as well. I’ve adored the woman since I laid eyes and ears on her as an awkward teen and she helped me see that people with the most interesting things to say and sing were not groomed in soulless girl bands.  Her latest album could well be a contender for my album of they year, and it’s only February! I’ve been spotting comments of a similar nature from mere mortals up to the dizzy talents of Arcade Fire.

All hail Polly Jean Harvey. ♥

Written by Anon PA

May 23, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

