From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

How Billy Ocean Starred in Star Wars

leave a comment »

Up until a few years ago I was utterly convinced that the iconic cantina scene in Star Wars was playing a Billy Ocean track in the background. Not the one he is most noted for, when the going gets tough (which definitely appeared on the Jewel in the Nile soundtrack, I’ve got that fact right). I thought the background track to that extremely famous scene was this….

Exactly! I had countless arguments about this with a few people, I was so certain of it. Uber nerds and geeks, please don’t hunt me down, I do feel like a complete and utter fool already! I have finally come up with an explanation.

At the time my sister would of been obsessed with Harrison Ford our parents would of decided to knock through the wall that separated the dining room and living room. Suddenly my Dads stereo was no longer enclosed, away from the TV and my Mum. The first time I sat with my sister to watch Star Wars on TV I believe my Dad must of been playing Billy Oceans greatest hits (I’ve checked his CD collection and can confirm he owns this). Hence, this song and particular scene have been so severely burnt into my musical memory that I was genuinely surprised when I found out that actually the cantina scene music sounds like this…

imagine my shock! Thankfully, I don’t see the people I argued Billy Oceans case with anymore so did not have to eat humble pie. Call me what you like over this, It just goes to show how we strongly connect music with films, moments & memories, everything!! ♥

Written by Anon PA

May 23, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

