From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

#26 A Song That I Can Play On An Instrument. 30 Day iTunes Song Challenge

leave a comment »

We had a tiny upright plonky piano in our family home, my sister started the piano lessons & then I picked it up a little later. It’s one of those hobbies I really wish I had kept up. When I think about my eventual lack of interest in playing I give a little sigh. Oh to be plodding around barefoot with black soles, long unkempt hair like Carole King or Joni Mitchell, bra-less, with towering, unstable stacks of sheet music teetering on edge. 

In amongst my scales and Beethoven’s Fur Elise, I had a Bob Dylan song book for piano that my Mum had given me. I cherished playing his songs, even if they never really suited piano renditions. My inner hippy loved playing The Times They Are A-Changin’. 

Unfortunately you’re all going to have to hum and do a good deed like Bob Dylan would like you to as YouTube throws up a lot of numpties shambolically performing their renditions and not the man himself *sigh* Of course, chances are if Dad hadn’t given the upright away to Catherine, the milkman’s niece, then I may of been one of these dreary idiots myself so perhaps it’s a good thing I didn’t keep it up after all. ♥

Written by Anon PA

May 23, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

