From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

#24 A Song I Want Playing At My Funeral. 30 Day iTunes Song Challenge

leave a comment »

How EMO & Maudlin must I be that this was far easier to chose than a wedding anthem! I am comforting myself by saying this makes me a realist, we will all shuffle off this mortal coil eventually but weddings aren’t mandatory. Especially since us women burnt our bra’s, got the vote & were allowed out of the kitchen. 

Scott Walker is a Saint to me. Some of my earliest memories are of my Dad singing along to The Walker Brothers, so he has been in my life from the earliest age. Legend says when recording tracks he would walk away after the first recording, refusing to listen to the track to see if it needed editing. If this is true I love that he had utter faith that it sounded as it should, that you can’t go back and perfect, tweak, edit. He believed that however it came out, that’s how it should sound. Scott Walker should play me off this planet for that very reason. We can’t listen back to conversations we’ve had and change how we left an argument, or tell someone we loved them more. We can’t rewind to moments & change a different outcome, a different path. We can’t erase words we’ve committed to paper no more than people can forget reading them. No Regrets is what I can hope for when my time has come. ♥

Written by Anon PA

May 23, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Leave a Reply

