From Desk Till Dawn

My mainly music & nerd bird blog

Museum Of Broken Relationships & My Song

leave a comment »

I visited the Museum Of Broken Relationships yesterday. For those of you not aware of what this entails it’s basically where the last embers of relationships go to die. Well, at least that’s how I viewed it. The range of items donated by the heartbroken beggars belief. A bad taste dragon cake topper from a wedding that ended in a swift divorce (I think the dragons are to blame for that separation) to a beautiful Pianoforte never to be played again by the intended recipient. There were some genuinely touching items/stories on display. The roll of undeveloped film and a ceramic rolling-pin that represented the loss of someone’s mother. Throughout the two sites that this exhibition spans the following three sentences were in constant rotation in my head;

  1. This is a bit sad
  2. Wow people can hold on to resentment a long long long time
  3. This is hysterical

My favourite moment was when an elderly gentleman (I mean Grandad, you can spot him in the photo below) came up to me and said “I don’t know what I’m doing here. I came for the theatre. It’s terribly sad isn’t it?”. He then went on to ask me if I’d ever felt any of the emotions catalogued & displayed lovingly. I didn’t have to think long. Yes, I’ve felt sadness before but never the bitterness that I felt was evident in the room. He told me he’d experienced great sadness in his life but “as for bitterness. No. You must never feel that”.

It made me think if I had anything to offer up to the museum. I haven’t kept trinkets of past relationships, I guess I’m just not the sort of person who keeps one toe dipped in the puddle of the past. But then I remembered the song.

I once dated a musician. I’ve learnt from that experience. However, about a year after my escape I received an MP3 of  a song penned about me. I want to point out that I’m not trying to belittle this brave act. Because it is a brave thing to say “I wrote this about you”. I respect anyone with the balls or boobs to do that. It’s called The Bones Of Ya.

Not The Bones Of You.

Ya.

It would be cruel of me to put someone’s art, their poetry into the museum wouldn’t it? Yes, you’re right. Putting in my blog however? Less cruel?

Follow me on Twitter

Written by Anon PA

August 24, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

